Thunder over Louisville

After a very long day, we are now en route to Somewhere, Ohio, where we plan to stop for the night before continuing our trek to Louisville, Kentucky, tomorrow. My tour partner is currently in high spirits, as his favorite rap song just came on Pandora. We got some hard core beats blasting from the tin can speakers in our “ice cream truck” and we are fully embracing the term, “keep on truckin’!” Fully.

Oy vey. I’m finding I’m especially homesick so far on this tour and also realizing that a blog isn’t enough to express my true feelings, which quite frankly, don’t need to be shared with the Internet. So it looks like I’ll either be investing in an old school journal or else venting to all my friends and family via the six sets of note cards I bought at Christmas Tree Shops the other day. Yep, six. I had been looking for some unique note cards (and been very unsuccessful) so when I hit the jackpot at CTS…let’s just say I had to limit myself to six ;) So send me a message with your address and you may receive a spontaneous piece of snail mail from Anywhere, USA!

Moving on, what’s good in Louisville?  I have to admit I’m excited to be heading there for two reasons: one, I’ve never been there, and two, for the first time on this tour, we are driving SOUTH!  No more wintry mix for Andi – bring on the Spring.  I’m also excited because we’re going to be working at Thunder Over Louisville, a kickoff event for the Kentucky Derby Festival.  Supposedly there is going to be a pretty stellar fireworks show, which will definitely make me feel like summer’s on the way.

I do have to be wary, however.  Yesterday I was checking in with the management at one of the many retailers we were sampling at and I found out that the manager I was speaking to was actually from Louisville (we were way up in upstate NY, near Niagara Falls).  I asked him what I could expect, and he said to me, “Have you ever seen the movie Deliverance?” and then let out an evil cackle as he walked away, without giving me the water access key that I had originally asked for.  Gulp.

Well, it is now the following day, and we have about 4.5 hours left until we reach Louisville.  The weather is calling for thunderstorms, so I guess there really will be thunder over Louisville – all weekend long.  More details to come!

As always, a few photos from the road…

I counted over 50 of these creepy alien windmill things during our drive through Upstate New York.  They all spin the same direction at the same speed... it just feels weird.
I counted over 50 of these creepy alien windmill things during our drive through Upstate New York. They all spin the same direction at the same speed… it just feels weird.
We stumbled upon this charming and spacious coffee shop during our stay in Rochester.  Delicious coffee and lunch!
We stumbled upon this charming and spacious coffee shop during our stay in Rochester. Delicious coffee and lunch!
This was my first ever room service experience.  I just felt I deserved it after a long work week.  Cellophane Toast!
This was my first ever room service experience. I just felt I deserved it after a long work week. Cellophane Toast!
Probably my favorite store.  There are tons up in New England & NY.  This is where I bought all the note cards :)
Probably my favorite store. There are tons up in New England & NY. This is where I bought all the note cards :)
We had only a couple minutes for a quick look at the NY side of Niagara... unfortunately the foot bridge to Goat Island (best view) was closed. :(  Better luck next time!
We had only a couple minutes for a quick look at the NY side of Niagara… unfortunately the foot bridge to Goat Island (best view) was closed. :( Better luck next time!

Au revoir!
Andi

3 thoughts on “Thunder over Louisville”

  1. It’s hard to find your posts in google. I found
    it on 12 spot, you should build quality backlinks , it will help you to rank to
    google top 10. I know how to help you, just type in google – k2 seo tips
    and tricks

Leave a comment